The Aleutians East Borough includes the westernmost portion of the Alaska Peninsula and a number of Aleutian Islands. There are five incorporated cities: Akutan, Cold Bay, False Pass, King Cove, and Sand Point, and one village (Nelson Lagoon) administered by its tribal council. The area has been inhabited by the Unangan (Alaska Native people) since the last ice age. During the early 1900s, whaling, fishing and cannery operations drew an influx of Scandinavian and European fishermen to the area. Today, commercial fishing and fish processing dominate the Borough’s economy.